Sometimes I’m an Old Lady

 From the Think Kit prompt “What did you make this year? Whether something personal, like a song or some art, or a work project, share your process and the end result of your creation.” I’m slowly catching up after the weekend.

My mom is crafty. I am not. I inherited my musical ability from my dad. The only thing I got from my mom is a longer than average torso, thick hair, and really strong fingernails that people pay money at the salon to copy (I’ve never had fake nails). I thank her for the nails, sometimes the hair, and curse the long torso. It makes shopping difficult. I got my dad’s long legs, and my mom’s long torso. I do like being 5’9″ so I can’t curse it too hard. Back to the topic at hand.

My mom is also left handed. I am not. This will come in to play in a few paragraphs.

My grandmother on my mom’s side worked at a winery when I was young. She pruned the grapes. In the fall, she would prune the grapevines, then give them to my mom.  At this point, our little foldable side swimming pool from Walmart (if my dad hadn’t destroyed the side by hitting it with the lawnmower) became a soaking pool for the grapevines. My mom would then transform the mess of grapevines into wreaths. It was amazing. My mom also worked in a flower shop until I was about two. So she even did the flowers and ribbon on the wreaths. The final product was something like this. She had so many, she could have sold them at an annual arts and crafts fair. I couldn’t find a picture of one that was ’80s enough. My point is, she was very good at making the wreaths.

wreath

My mom also likes to crochet, knit, and cross stitch.  Until about three years ago, I could do none of those three. My mom has tried to teach me many times, but remember, she is left handed. I am not. This caused lots of frustration.

Three years ago, I taught myself how to cross stitch. But not with the conventional kit. I think the pre bought stuff is silly.  I don’t want my walls adorned with kittens and unicorns, rainbows, and “home is where the heart is” stuff. Country chic is not my style. Don’t expect to get a cross stitched sampler for your wedding, housewarming, or birth of a child from me any time soon. If you do want something like that, tell me when you’re getting married, and you might get it by your second anniversary. No guarantees.

This is what I don’t do. When I right clicked to save the picture, I titled it ‘yuck.’

Image

See, I had found this website called Sprite Stitch. Alas, something I can relate to!

So this is what I’ve created. Over the past couple years. The problem is that my queue of awesome things is so long, I start one, and get almost finished before I find something else even cooler that I want to work on.

It all started with this. So many memories of this game. It’s all done except for the white on the floor.

Image

I had found this pattern, and actually finished it. It just needs framed. Which is expensive!

Image

Then I started this. Turns out stitching dark colors on black fabric is hard. It’s so close to being finished.

Image

My current project that’s about two years in the making. It’s HUGE! The picture was taken on the cushion of our chaise lounge. The fabric is 24″x 20″ or something like that. For perspective, that is a 10″ hoop. The picture here is from about a year ago. I now have the bottom half almost done.

Image

So there. That’s my little old lady activity. It’s what I do when I need to zone out. I will sit down to work on it, then all the sudden it’s been 5 hours, which I’m ok with. I’ve blasted through many seasons of TV on Netflix this way. I highly recommend it.

Posted on December 10, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

